MPL Board of Trustees

The Manhattan Public Library serves the cultural, informational, and recreational needs of the citizens of the community and contributes to our quality of life. The library is funded primarily by a tax levy on property within the city limits of Manhattan. It is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Manhattan Public Library Board of Trustees consists of seven members appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city commission (K.S.A. 12-1222). In addition to the appointed members, the mayor serves as an ex officio member of the board, which means that by virtue of the office or position, the mayor is a member. Trustees serve a four year term and are eligible for one reappointment. Board meetings are held monthly, on the last Monday of each month, at 4:00 p.m. in the board room of the administrative office. Board meetings are open to the public. Changes in the schedule will be posted on this page of the library’s website and on the library’s public bulletin board.

Current Board of Trustees Members

The duties of the Board of Trustees are defined by K.S.A. 12-1225. Trustees approve library policy and serve on finance, building and grounds, legislative, and policy and planning committees. The library board hires and evaluates the library director.

Elaine Shannon – President
2869 Bentwood Drive
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-410-5750

Kerry Spencer – Vice President
3529 Churchill Way
Manhattan, KS  66503
Phone: 785-537-4584

Carolyn Elliott
804 Goodrich Drive
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-539-5795

Stacy Kohlmeier
3446 Vanesta Drive
Manhattan, KS  66503
Phone: 785-341-4781

Medhat Morcos
1513 Williamsburg Drive
Manhattan, KS  66502
Phone: 785-341-7707

Jayme Morris-Hardeman
1822 Laramie
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-537-3560

Tyler Darnell
801 Poyntz Avenue
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-537-1345

Mayor Usha Reddi – Ex-Officio
City Hall
1101 Poyntz Avenue
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-587-2404


Library Update

For details about current library services click the "Coronavirus [COVID-19] Information page" button for more information.

Coronavirus [COVID-19] Information page