News & More...

Archive for Adult Services

October is “National Stop Bullying” Month.

by Linda, Adult Services

The self-esteem and empathy-building international non-profit organization “Hey U.G.L.Y.” (Unique gifted Lovable You) has designated October as a time for schools across America to conduct Stop Bullying classroom activities on how to eradicate bullying from classrooms and neighborhoods. Contact Hey U.G.L.Y. at preventbullyingnow@heyugly.org.

bullyManhattan Public Library has books dealing with bullying aimed at dealing with different age groups and books for parents as well. See Bullying by Lori Hile, and Dear Bully : Seventy Authors Tell Their Stories for young adults. For parents, seek Sexual Harassment and Bullying by Susan Strauss; Bully: an Action Plan for Teachers and Parents to Combat the Bullying Crisis; Bullied: What Every Parent, Teacher and Kid Needs to Know… by Carrie Goldman; and Sticks and Stones by Emily Bazelon. A documentary on DVD: Bully, is intense, and disturbing, some strong language and all involving kids.

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

Author Visit: Diane Eickhoff , author of “Clarina Nichols and the Pioneering Crusade for Women’s Rights”

by Susan Withee, Adult Services Manager

 

revolutionaryThis month’s meeting of the library’s new “Good Books” discussion series will welcome, in person, author Diane Eickhoff who will speak about her book “Revolutionary Heart: The Life of Clarina Nichols and the Pioneering Crusade for Women’s Rights.” This book is the biography of an extraordinary Kansas pioneer who was involved in the 19th century abolition and temperance movements, and who fought her own very personal fight for women’s legal rights to property, child custody, and the vote. Clarina Nichols was born and raised on a farm in Vermont, survived a troubled first marriage, and won a hard-fought court battle to retain custody of her children. She was successfully married a second time to a Vermont newspaper publisher and eventually took over the publishing of the newspaper. She became an eloquent journalist and passionate public speaker on the subjects of abolition and votes for women. Nichols joined the mid-century exodus of New England abolitionists to Kansas Territory to fight for free-state status and was an early resident of both Quindaro and Lawrence. She worked with and made speaking appearances with Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and other suffragist leaders, although her name is not as well known. This biography, well written and filled with great primary historical sources such as Clarina Nichols’ letters, speeches, and memoirs, introduces the reader to a regrettably little-known Kansas activist.

Please join us at the public library for the program and Good Books Discussion series on Thursday, October 30, at 7:00 p.m. in the Groesbeck Room.  This program is free and open to the public.

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults, library services

Leave a Comment (0) →

National Food Bank Week

breadbasketby Judi, Adult Services Librarian

This time of year, we look towards the holidays and gathering with friends and family over holiday meals. We also need to remember those who are less fortunate at this time of year, and to recognize National Food Bank Week, a wonderful gesture would be to stop by our local Food Bank, the Flint Hills Breadbasket, to donate items to make the holiday celebrations happier for a local family. The Flint Hills Breadbasket’s mission is “ To minimize hunger and poverty through the distribution of available food and to nurture projects that will help alleviate hunger and poverty. Hunger is an oftentimes invisible tragedy. For twenty-nine years, the Flint Hills Breadbasket has been collecting and distributing donations and food to ensure that no one in the community goes hungry.” Help our local residents in need by donating today!

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

Those are my relatives??!!

by Judi Nechols, Adult Services Librarian

charetingPopular here at Manhattan Public Library are our Genealogy Resources. We have many print resources—books such as Genealogy Online for Dummies, Charting your Family History:  Includes Legacy; Family Tree software version 2.0, on CD-ROM, for Microsoft Windows, Iowa, Kansas and Nebraska Civil War Veterans; and A Genealogist’s Guide to Discovering your Female Ancestors: Special Strategies for Uncovering Hard-to-find Information about your Female Lineage. (more…)

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults, library services, News

Leave a Comment (0) →

October means Pumpkins!!

by Janet Ulrey, Adult Services Librarian

PumpkinsFall brings us apple and pumpkin harvest. There is nothing better than fresh apples and the aroma of any pumpkin dessert baking not to mention the joy of eating them. It’s a great time for caramel apples, pumpkin pie, and jack-o-lanterns. You’ll find books for recipes as well as pumpkin carving at the library.

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

For “Jesse Stone” fans!!

by Linda Henderson, Adult Services Librarian

 

indexFor you “Jesse Stone” fans, another new author, Reed Farrel Coleman, has written Robert B. Parker’s Blind Spot.

Michael Brandman wrote the first three Jesse Stone novels after Parker’s death and did a wonderful job of capturing the melancholy tone and spare writing style favored by Parker.

Fans of both Parker’s Spenser and Jesse Stone series will enjoy this 13th installment, after Damned If You Do. Like Spenser, Jesse is a man of honor who feels he must speak for the dead. Coleman’s writing mimics Parker’s, with short chapters, snappy repartee, and just enough action. It is undoubtedly set up for another book. Like all Parker novels, it is a great, fast beach read, recommended for all detective fiction fans.” Tom Selleck stars in the “made for tv” movies, the latest was “Benefit of the Doubt” in 2012. A recent quote from actor Selleck “Well, right now CBS hasn’t ordeed another one…I’m not sure whether this is the last ‘Jesse” or not. I don’t think it will be…” and so we fans hope!

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

Vladimir Horowitz

by Janet Ulrey, Adult Services Librarian

horowitzFor all you music enthusiasts out there, here is a tribute to Vladimir Horowitz. He was hailed as one of the world’s greatest pianists, renowned for his masterful technique. He was born 110 years ago yesterday in Berdichev, Russia. In 1940, he settled in the United States and became a citizen in 1944. Follow this link to find his music on CD in our catalog.

 

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

Fall Comfort Cooking

by Susan Withee, Adult Services Manager
With crisp fall weather coming on, it’s time to get back to cooking food that warms the kitchen as well as the soul and fills the house with delicious aromas. Soups, stews, casseroles, breads, pies, and cobblers – this is food that’s fun to make and savor, and is even better when shared with others. Manhattan Public Library has hundreds of great cookbooks to inspire you. Here are just a few:

autumnAutumn Gatherings: Casual Food to Enjoy with Family and Friends by Rick Rodgers.
Taste of the Season: Inspired Recipes for Fall and Winter by Diane Worthington.
Autumn: Recipes Inspired by Nature’s Bounty by Joanne Weir.
Eat Feed Autumn Winter: 30 Ways to Celebrate When the Mercury Drops by Anne Bramley.

 

Bake Until Bubbly: The Ultimate Casserole Cookbook by Clifford Wright.
Perfect One-Dish Dinners: All You Need for Easy Get-Togethers by Pam Anderson.
Slow-Cooked Comfort: Soul-Satisfying Stews, Casseroles, and Braises by Lydie Marshall.
Soups, Stews, and One-Pot Meals by Tom Valenti.

 

Sunday Soup: A Year’s Worth of Mouthwatering, Easy-to-Make Recipes by Betty Rosbottom.
Soup Makes the Meal: 150 Soul-Satisfying Recipes for Soups, Salads and Breads by Ken Haedrich.
The Soup and Bread Cookbook: More than 100 Seasonal Pairings for Simple Satisfying Meals by Beatrice Ojakangas.

 

breadsPrairie Home Breads: 150 Splendid Recipes from America’s Breadbasket by Judith Fertig.
Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads by Bernard Clayton.
Pillsbury: Best Muffins and Quick Breads Cookbook.
Kneadlessly Simple: Fabulous, Fuss-Free, No-Knead Breads by Nancy Baggett.

Rustic fruit Desserts: Crumbles, Buckles, Cobblers, Pandowdies, and More by Cory Schreiber.
United States of Pie: Regional Favorites from East to West and North to South by Adrienne Kane.
Pies, Pies, and More Pies by Viola Goren.

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults

Leave a Comment (0) →

Help with Online Health Information

Rhonna Hargett, Adult Services Librarian

In a recent Pew Internet survey, it was revealed that health is a popular research topic on the internet. Of course, we all know that not all information on the internet is reliable, so if you combine these two facts, you get a lot of people getting bad information about a very important topic. Don’t worry, the library is here to help. There are excellent sources when you want to learn more about your health. You just need to know where to go.

medline
I always recommend people start with www.medlineplus.gov. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus is my favorite site for everything health related. You can go to health topics to look up a variety of conditions. Each section will give you the basics such as symptoms and treatment, articles about current research, and even tutorials and videos.
If you are wanting to research a condition more thoroughly, Medline EBSCO search is the place to go. Available on our Research Page, this database indexes over 5,400 current biomedical journals, so you can learn all about the latest research in the field.
At the risk of being old-fashioned, I feel the need to mention that we also have some great books for your use. Our health section can help you with the day-to-day challenges of living with different conditions or can help you jump start a healthier lifestyle. Search on our catalog to see what we have.
Health is too important of a topic to risk using unreliable sources. Let us lead the way to information from organizations you can trust.

Posted in: Adult Services, For Adults, library services

Leave a Comment (0) →
Page 1 of 13 12345...»